Retracing Old Footprints

I have walked steps and left my footprints
And I can only walk forward and make some more
I certainly wish to re-walk the old footprints
Those that I walked when I was immature

I could walk backwards, restep on them all
But I won’t be able to retrace the same track
Some prints were made when my feet were small
And I’ll lose balance with no eyes on my back

If I keep trying to step into the past
I will fall and forget even my present
So, footprints go hide in this land so vast!
But don’t disappear, that is not my intent

I can’t re-walk the same old footprints
I shouldn’t waste time or attempt anymore
Instead lets focus on making new footprints
With the past as the key to the perfect next door

One thought on “Retracing Old Footprints

Leave a Reply

