Ice Cream: Clean and Healthy

I love ice cream – who doesn’t? With all the buzz about clean eating these days I looked up many ideas for a “cleaner” ice cream and finally found one I was willing to try. I did change the ingredients a bit (for example I don’t exactly agree with using artificial sweeteners so I use honey – I know a few more calories but fewer chemicals?)

icecream

Ingredients:

3 Frozen bananas (Peel and cut up bananas before freezing them for 1-2 hours)
4 tablespoon full cream yogurt (Greek yogurt)
2/3 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon honey
2 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder
(Optional)1 scoop whey protein powder (for people who are okay with protein powder)
Method:

Just blend it all together.
Freeze it for a few hours.
Serve with dried coconut or nuts or seeds. (Whatever you like!)

I served it with dried coconut and pumpkin seeds! 🙂

icecream2

Verdict: Of course it wasn’t exactly like ice cream. Not as creamy (maybe more yogurt if you want it creamier?). Strong banana taste as expected so if you’re not a fan of banana you’ll probably hate it. Overall, I was quite happy with it and I might make it more often since it does satisfy the craving. 🙂 If the ice cream gets too hard and icy after you freeze it just blend it again – it tastes great afterwards and a lot more like ice cream.

Leave a Reply

