That Day

Picture of best friends forever

Sweet memories

Going back a million ‘n two footsteps
I’ll take you to that moment
The time we spent our days on swings
And dreamed of flapping our wings

A certain day will always live in me
We sat side by side on our spot
Both wearing the same favorite dresses of ours
Randomly plucked the green fresh grass

The birds kept our little ears busy
We were quiet but our hearts were happy
The breeze sparked a scented romance
Between dry leaves, brittle stems and their dance

There was a butterfly I had seen before
It sat with its friend and had a nice long talk
Both had wings of the same pretty colors
Floated together over bright red flowers

Never cared about what went on around us
I smiled and popped my feet out of my shoes
You looked at me with that same lovely smile
Held my hand danced in a puddle for a while

Fenced off from the beeps, shouts and screeches
Old men resting, playing chess, biting on cigars
Many girls, more boys, kids running and on swings
Sweat, pushes, twists, wounds, some giggles and screams

I smell the scent of the day as I breathe
The old pond housing weeds and leaves
That tiny toad, I remember I didn’t quite admire
And ants never seemed to want to retire

Twenty years later when I think of you
I  am going back to that same moment
The time we spent our days on swings
And dreamed of flapping our wings

Leave a Reply

